Merit pay and Value Added Measures

I’d say that I am wondering if I am being corrupted by all these teachers that I have befriended, follow and interact with on Twitter, but…  maybe I am just learning more about how this all works.

In reading the Diane Ravitch book, The Death and Life of the Great American School System: How Testing and Choice Are Undermining Education, I have been all over the map. It’s been interesting reading it on my iPad, because iBooks lets you take notes and highlight things – but I can almost write my own book now with all of the notes, the questions, the issues I have had on all sides being presented.

Over the course of the next few weeks, I hope to come to some sort of direction as to what I think the answer to this is. In the mean time, have a quick look at this video on merit pay and the current panacea of teacher evaluating, Value Added Measures.

You’ll probably agree that this one doesn’t work either.

Truly,

Steve

-nb- how many Tweets does it take to change someone’s mind?  I have been exposed to well over 10,000 on this subject by now…   ya gotta wonder.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Commentaries, Education

Leave a Reply

