My first six (or seven) months

A lot of people ask me, “So – how do you like it, being a commissioner now?”

And my answer typically is, “Well, it’s frustrating, it takes a lot more time than I thought it would and yet still – I am hoping to help make a difference.”

It’s frustrating. I’m the new guy and I am a vocal guy – even *I* am tired of hearing me pipe up again at a meeting. Having said that, “I gotta do what I gotta do” – and really, isn’t that what we’re there for?

I have been accused of knocking everything. It’s simply not true – I *will* say when I think we can do something better – and again, isn’t that what we are there for? And I will keep my mouth shut when I don’t have anything that I consider of value to add to the process. I wish that some others would too.

People notice when something is said; they don’t notice when something isn’t. Ahh well – ’tis the way of the world.

It takes a lot of time. WOW – it takes a lot of time, and there are some commissioners who put in a lot more than me. Just take a look at the bottom of this page where I list most of the meetings and/or events that I have attended. For those people who don’t think commissioners do much? Well, it’s time to rethink that one. There actually is a lot of valuable work being done, by a lot of commissioners.

Can I make a difference? Maybe – I am still naive enough to think so. I need to learn how to get my points across without being abrasive. I need to learn how to give up on a point before it gets to flogging a dead horse. I need to learn a number of things. But, I still actually believe that I am having, and will have a net positive effect on our school board.

No meetings for the next little bit, so we can recharge the batteries a little. So much still to do…

Have a great summer!

Truly,

Steve

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

